New By Two

Johannes Mössinger - Joel Frahm

CD Release Unit Records 15. Oktober 17

Johannes Mössinger and Joel Frahm met 2016 in New York to record their new Album New By Two (Unit Records UTR 4802, Oktober 2017). It is another highlight in their long and creative collaboration and after many years of playing in a quartet format they found a new essence in their art during this duo session. The listeners are directly touched by the rhythmical flow of this music, which comes from the elegant and clear ideas in Johannes Mössingers piano playing and the magical sound from Joel Frahm on the saxophon. From the first notes on there is this special connection between the instruments and the musicians, that is the precondition for a world class duo and leads on the other hand to the true experience while listening to this music.

Johannes Mössinger:

Jazz pianist and composer Johannes Moessinger has recorded and performed on the jazz scene since 1996. The beginning of his career was marked through his solo album „Spring in Versailles“ from 1998 and his CD Monk’s Corner from 2001 with Joe Lovano. Since then the artist Johannes Moessinger is working mostly with his New York ensemble together with Karl Latham, Kermit Driscoll and Calvin Jones, with his various solo projects, as composer and he collaborated with many international jazz musicians such as: Joel Frahm, Seamus Blake, Andy Hunter, Bob Malach, Enrico Rava, Don Braden, Boris Kozlov, Thomas Lähns. He was touring all over Europe, in North Amerika and the Near East. He created many jazz compositions, a string quartet, music for film and 20 CD productions as a Leader.

Joel Frahm:

Tenor saxophonist Joel Frahm is one of the bright young players on the jazz scene. After growing up in Racine, Wis., and West Hartford, Conn., he now lives in New York City, appearing on the club circuit at popular jazz spots such as the Blue Note, Birdland and Jazz Standard. He has played alongside top young musicians including Bill Charlap, Matt Wilson and Ben Allison and has shared the stage with veterans such as Dewey Redman, Fred Hersch and the late Betty Carter. As a regular in singer Jane Monheit's band for three years, he caught the attention of critics with his big tenor sound - fluid, inventive and filled with passion. Downbeat Magazine's 2004 critics' poll named him a rising star. His most recent recording as a leader is “Live at Smalls” featuring guitarist Kurt Rosenwinkel.


  1. Splanshy Squeeze
  2. Cherokee (Ray Noble)
  3. Juli P
  4. Joana's Dance
  5. Accept The Unacceptable
  6. On The Street Where You Live (Loewe/Lerner)
  7. Pictures of Love
  8. New By Two

All music composed by Johannes Moessinger, except No.2 and No.6 as indicated

TRACK 1 Splanshy Squeeze


  • Johannes Mössinger | Piano
  • Joel Frahm | Saxophon